Monday, July 13, 2009

The Christy Award

The Christy Award, named in honor of Catherine Marshall's nove, was designed to recognize novelists and novels in several genres of Christian fiction. The Christy Award is designed to:

  • Nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishin of fiction written from a Christian worldview.

  • Bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available, helping to broaden the readership.

  • Provide opportunity to recognize novelists whose work may not have reached bestseller status.

Similar to the Romance Writers of America's (RWA) RITA award, novels are considered with a copyrighted date of the year preceeding the awards. Publishers submit the novels written from a Christian worldview. Each novel is entered in one of several genres and/or best first book. A panel of seven judges composed of librarians, reviewers, academicians,literary critics and other qualified readers, none of whom have a direct affiliation with a publishing company, read and evalute each entry against a standard 10-point criteria.

The finalists are announced in March. An awards ceremony is hosted during the CBA's International Christian Retail Show (ICRS) in July. This year, Denver hosted the event, July 12-15, with the awards ceremony on July 11.

Past winners include, Robin Lee Hatcher, James Scott Bell, Catherine Palmer, Gilbert Morris, Francine Rivers, Dee Henderson, Randy Ingermannson, Randy Singer,Ted Dekker, Liz Curtis Higgs, among many others.

For a list of this year's finalists and winners, please check out the Winners page!

A special shoutout goes to Mary Connealy! Her book, Calico Canyon, finaled in the Historical Romance category. Read her book and see for yourself why Mary is a Christy Award finalist! While you're at it, check out her blog. Check out Petticoats & Pistols and Seekerville, too! You'll find Mary's sense of humor and wit contagious!

Congratulations, Mary!

No comments: